Blog Post #6: March 29th 2019


“No man has the right to dictate what other men should perceive, create or produce, but all should be encouraged to reveal themselves, their perceptions and emotions, and to build confidence in the creative spirit.”

Ansel Adams

Inspiration: In everyday life, there is a performance to living, even without a camera pointed in your face. Though candids can try to capture the unwatched life of a human being, it is still tainted by the knowledge that a camera is upon them. Here, Green’s work aknowledges the camera in the room, and these pictures are more honest for it. They depict a reality many don’t often see: the experiences of people who don’t nestle neatly within the norm.


“Peter and Stevie,” 2018.

Ethan James Green

Art is the voice of the voiceless. Art shows us what other things cannot. I want to do that within my own art. I want to show things not traditionally shown in art. I want to question things no one has yet thought to question. I want those looking at my art to be inspired to do so, just as I was with Green’s work. His use of a traditional medium to depict the non-traditional creates a contrast that beautifully depicts our own world’s juxtaposition.


“Torraine,” 2015.

Ethan James Green

Leave a comment